Friday, January 10, 2014

Gmail and Google+ implement an "email anyone" policy.

A new feature from Google will let you e-mail just about anyone with a Google+ account, and, in turn, give them the ability to e-mail you.

The feature, announced on the official Gmail blog, won't give your actual e-mail address to strangers. But when a Gmail user begins typing in the address box, it will provide suggestions including people in their Google+ network.

The idea, Google says, is to make it easier to contact friends and other contacts when you've forgotten, or never had, their e-mail address. But some early reactions suggested the new change may make it too easy.

In our opinion, it's just another reason to hate Google+. They have officially turned it into a stalking tool.

Google, clearly anticipating the privacy concerns, notes that users may limit the feature, or opt out of it entirely.

While the default G+ setting will allow anyone on Google+ to contact you, users may limit that access to people in their Circles on the network, or to nobody at all.

There are other limits, too. A user may only e-mail you using the system once if you don't reply (addressing the stalking concerns, perhaps). And messages from people who are not in your G+ Circles will go into the "Social" folder, along with other posts from sites like G+, Facebook and Twitter, instead of the user's primary inbox.

Google said the feature will be rolling out to Gmail and Google+ users over the next couple of days, when they will receive a message with a link to the feature.

Source: Gmail Email Blast

No comments:

Post a Comment